Runtime Error (5)

Support for issues specific to the Windows operating systems.

Runtime Error (5)

Postby andaclulec » Sun Oct 17, 2010 5:04 am

Hi,

I am using VS2005, cuda toolkit 3.2, cula 2.1

First of all ,although CULA_BIN_PATH variable was defined and linked in the VS2005 according to the manual, I got "cula.dll was not found" error and I solved this issue by copying the .dll s to the project directory but I didn't understand why I got this error.

Then, I tried to run geqrf_device example, and I got runtime error (5) after "Calling culadeviceSgeqrf" message on the console. What should I do?

Thanks in advance...
Andac
andaclulec
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 4:36 pm

Re: Runtime Error (5)

Postby andaclulec » Sun Oct 17, 2010 12:42 pm

I uninstalled Cuda toolkit 3.2 and installed 3.1 and the problem was solved :)
andaclulec
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 4:36 pm

Re: Runtime Error (5)

Postby john » Mon Oct 18, 2010 7:39 am

The BIN path is something of a problem in windows, because of how DLLs are located at runtime - basically search the PATH variable and the directory the executable resides in. The linker uses CULA_LIB_PATH to find the cula.lib file - this file mostly tells your exe to search for a cula.dll file at runtime. Your solution was correct though - CULA 2.1 is designed to work with CUDA 3.1. CUDA 3.2 support is coming soon.
john
Administrator
 
Posts: 587
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 2:31 pm


Return to Windows Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron