culaInitialize now fails

Support for issues specific to the Windows operating systems.

culaInitialize now fails

Postby jmorgie » Sun Jan 23, 2011 9:10 pm

This app used to work.

Now:

s=culaInitialize ();
give s=10.
culaGetError gives "49"

what is happening? this used to work. Now i am revisiting a simple app to debug some new stuff but cula wont initialize.

thanks
jmorgie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 8:48 am

Re: culaInitialize now fails

Postby john » Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:35 am

That error maps to the CUDA erorr:
Code: Select all
  /**
   * This indicates that the current context is not compatible with this
   * version of the CUDA Runtime. This can only occur if you are using CUDA
   * Runtime/Driver interoperability and have created an existing Driver
   * context using an older API. Please see \ref CUDART_DRIVER
   * "Interactions with the CUDA Driver API" for more information.
   */
  cudaErrorIncompatibleDriverContext    =     49,


You'll want to use CUDA 3.2 (final version - not RC), a CUDA 3.2 driver, and CULA R10 all together. And ensure that there are no older copies of CULA or CUDA that are being loaded at runtime rather than these - Dependency Walker is a good tool for this.
john
Administrator
 
Posts: 587
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 2:31 pm

Re: culaInitialize now fails

Postby bzell » Mon Jan 24, 2011 9:41 am

I believe i do have all the correct components: cuda 3.2, cula r10 and latest nvidia driver. this is all code that worked last monday and nothing changed in the interim. i will look again; any other thoughts about what could be an incompatible context?

thanks
bzell
CULA Premium
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 7:36 pm

Re: culaInitialize now fails

Postby bzell » Mon Jan 24, 2011 10:26 am

I am thinking that my gpu board did not survive the trip home from hawaii last week.

on the plus side, I use it as the display driver and my display is fine. but otherwise i cannot explain the bad context errors.

do you have / know of / a gpu diagnostic?
bzell
CULA Premium
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 7:36 pm

Re: culaInitialize now fails

Postby john » Mon Jan 24, 2011 1:31 pm

I use the NVIDIA GPU SDK to diagnose errors. First, run deviceQuery, then try out the bandwidth tests. They are enough to show base functionality.

There's a half chance that Windows got sneaky and did a Windows Update to an older WHQL driver when you weren't looking.
john
Administrator
 
Posts: 587
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 2:31 pm


Return to Windows Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests