CULA and CUBLAS

Support for issues specific to the Windows operating systems.

Re:CULA and CUBLAS

Postby tang » Thu Jan 07, 2010 6:55 pm

Dear Dr. John,

I eventually have a chance to test the GPU. After installed the CUDA driver and package, I have successfully built and test the example project provided by CUDA SDK. However, After I downloaded your product cula_1.1b-win64.exe and installed it to that machine, I opened the example project $\CULA\examples\fortran\fortran_vc9.sln and tried to build the project, the following link error displayed:

1>------ Build started: Project: fortran, Configuration: Release x64 ------
1>Checking Environment
1>Compiling with Intel(R) Visual Fortran 11.1.038 [Intel(R) 64]...
1>geqrf.f
1>rc.exe not found.
1>Project : warning PRJ0018 : The following environment variables were not found:
1>$(WindowsSdkDir)
1>
1>Build log written to "file://D:\Program Files\CULA\examples\fortran\x64\Release\BuildLog.htm"
1>fortran - 1 error(s), 0 warning(s)
========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========


Could you please help me to check this problem?


Thanks,
Zhanghong Tang



PS:
I have tested the hardware by the example program 'bandwidthTest.exe', the following message displayed:

D:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\NVIDIA Corporation\NVIDIA G
PU Computing SDK\C\bin\win64\Release>"D:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Applic
ation Data\NVIDIA Corporation\NVIDIA GPU Computing SDK\C\bin\win64\Release\bandw
idthTest.exe"
Running on......
device 0:GeForce 8600 GT
Quick Mode
Host to Device Bandwidth for Pageable memory
.
Transfer Size (Bytes) Bandwidth(MB/s)
33554432 2054.9

Quick Mode
Device to Host Bandwidth for Pageable memory
.
Transfer Size (Bytes) Bandwidth(MB/s)
33554432 1472.5

Quick Mode
Device to Device Bandwidth
.
Transfer Size (Bytes) Bandwidth(MB/s)
33554432 15709.1

&&&& Test PASSED

Press ENTER to exit...
tang
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:28 am

Re:CULA and CUBLAS

Postby dan » Thu Jan 07, 2010 8:00 pm

This doesn't appear to be a CULA (or hardware) problem in any way as rc.exe is Microsoft's Resource Compiler executable that comes with Visual Studio by default. Perhaps the machine's visual studio installation was incorrectly done?
dan
Administrator
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 2:29 pm

Re:CULA and CUBLAS

Postby tang » Thu Jan 07, 2010 8:18 pm

Dear Dr. Dan,

Thank you very much for your kindly reply. I tested that the other projects (the C++ project provided by your product and Fortran project I created before) can be successfully built. So I don't think that the VS installation has problem.

Thanks,
Zhanhong Tang
tang
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:28 am

Re:CULA and CUBLAS

Postby john » Fri Jan 08, 2010 7:45 am

tang wrote:Dear Dr. John,

Thank you very much for your reply. I forgot to ask that if I run the program in a different OS, should I copy the correspond runtime libraries of CUDA to that machine? I wish both the same program and runtime libraries of CUDA can run in different OS, XP 32/Vista 32/Win7 32 or XP 64/Vista 64/Win7 64.


Thanks,
Zhanghong Tang

The runtime libraries for both CUDA and CULA are the same across XP, Vista, and Win7, so you can use the same runtime file on all of those operating systems. The 32-bit and 64-bit versions are different and you will need to select the appropriate one in these cases. (With one exception: a 64-bit OS can run 32-bit executables with a 32-bit runtime.)
john
Administrator
 
Posts: 587
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 2:31 pm

Re:CULA and CUBLAS

Postby tang » Fri Jan 08, 2010 5:29 pm

Dear Dr. John,

Thank you very much for your kindly reply. That's just what I wanted.

Thanks,
Zhanghong Tang
tang
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:28 am

Previous

Return to Windows Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron