CULA.dll runtime error finding culaSgetri

Support for issues specific to the Windows operating systems.

CULA.dll runtime error finding culaSgetri

Postby ssylee » Mon Nov 23, 2009 10:41 pm

I have recently purchased the premium edition of CULA, and tried to implement a function that calls culaSgetrf() and culaSgetri(). However, during execution, the program ran into a run-time error saying culaSgetri() is not found in the dll. I'm not sure what else I can do at this point. Thanks in advance for looking into this.

[img]C:\Robotics%20and%20Controls%20Laboratory\questions\cula_dll_error.png[/img]

Code: Select all
//----------------------------------------------------------------------------
// Matrix inversion using Lapack
// Updated: a
void M_inv_cula(culaFloat *a, int n)
{
   culaInt   *IPIV, M, N, LDA;
   culaFloat   wk_temp = 0;

   LDA = M = N = n;
   IPIV = (culaInt *) malloc( min(M,N)*sizeof(culaInt));
   memset(IPIV, 0, min(M,N)*sizeof(culaInt));

   culaSgetrf(M, N, a, LDA, IPIV);

   culaSgetri(N, a, LDA, IPIV);
   
   free((void*) IPIV);
}
Image
ssylee
CULA Academic
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 11:08 am

Re:CULA.dll runtime error finding culaSgetri

Postby john » Tue Nov 24, 2009 6:25 am

Hello -
It sounds like you might be loading the DLL from CULA Basic rather than the Premium copy you installed. Have a look at your PATH system variable and make sure it points to a Premium installation. (On Windows, the DLL search path checks the current working directory and then proceeds to follow your PATH variable until it finds a DLL that is a name match - in this case it's cula.dll - and will attempt to load the first one it finds. I think it found a Basic cula.dll first from the sounds of it.)

Regards,
John
john
Administrator
 
Posts: 587
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 2:31 pm

Re:CULA.dll runtime error finding culaSgetri

Postby ssylee » Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:05 pm

I have looked and checked the CULA paths and they are pointing to the same paths. I initially tried version 1.0 before recently trying version 1.1 of CULA. Both versions didn't work. I have uninstalled the basic version before installing the premium version. Is the dll working properly with culaSgetri() registered? Thanks in advance for your help.
ssylee
CULA Academic
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 11:08 am

Re:CULA.dll runtime error finding culaSgetri

Postby kyle » Fri Nov 27, 2009 4:53 pm

Hi ssylee,

I just did a quick check using [url="http://www.dependencywalker.com/"]dependency walker[/url] and can confirm that there is an entry point for 'culaSgetri()' in both the 32 and 64 bit CULA Premium DLLs available in the latest 1.1 release posted to the webpage.

As John mentioned, Windows will first look in the working directory for DLL linking. Try copying the cula.dll (from CULA Premium) into the same folder as your executable. If this works, it will indicate that there is still a rogue CULA basic that you are linking against.

-Kyle
kyle
Administrator
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:47 pm

Re:CULA.dll runtime error finding culaSgetri

Postby ssylee » Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:50 pm

After checking the dlls, I have realized that I have been linking with the dlls in the same folder of the Visual Studio project, not the ones in the CULA installation folder. As a result, I was indeed linking with the basic version of the dlls until I fixed it. Thanks for your help about it.
ssylee
CULA Academic
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2009 11:08 am

Re:CULA.dll runtime error finding culaSgetri

Postby kyle » Sat Nov 28, 2009 9:05 am

Great! Glad we would help you resolve this issue.
kyle
Administrator
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:47 pm


Return to Windows Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron