Page 1 of 1

Insufficient memory to complete this operation

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 6:05 am
by wieland
I got the message "Insufficient memory to complete this operation" when i start the demo with a matrix
%%MatrixMarket matrix coordinate real general
%cula test
773058 773058 56932434

on a Quadro 5000.
IS this a limit of the demo or will the full version also fail with such a matrix.

Re: Insufficient memory to complete this operation

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 7:03 am
by kyle
There is no size limitation for the demo so you should be able to run any sized problem.

The Quadro 5000 has 2.5 GB so you should be able to work on a fairly large matrix. From the looks of your header, a N=773058 NZ=56932434 matrix should only take up about 500 MB. Is there a possibility the matrix is too large for your host (aka CPU) memory?

Have you tried the demo with anything smaller? There are plenty of example matrices available from the UF Sparse Matrix Collection.

Re: Insufficient memory to complete this operation

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 7:30 am
by wieland
"Top" prints
Mem: 99000516k total, 9646284k used, 89354232k free, 968k buffers
Swap: 31254328k total, 0k used, 31254328k free, 6259800k cached

PID USER PR NI VIRT RES SHR S %CPU %MEM TIME+ COMMAND
17232 yao5403 20 0 109g 1.0g 42m R 100 1.1 0:13.65 iterativeBenchm
The host has 96 GB.
The demo works fine with smaller matrices.

Re: Insufficient memory to complete this operation

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 8:04 am
by kyle
Seems like the CPU has plenty of memory. Can you run nvidia-smi (or something similar) for information regarding your GPU?

Also, if possible, we can take a look at the matrix file if you are able to share it with us somehow (FTP, Dropbox, etc). Feel free to contact me at spagnoli (at) emphotonics (dot) com regarding this matter.

Re: Insufficient memory to complete this operation

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2012 8:42 am
by kyle
Also, be sure that you are actually using the Quatro device to run the demo. There is a chance that you are unintentionally using an additional display device in your system as the main compute device.

Re: Insufficient memory to complete this operation

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 3:51 am
by wieland
we have only one GPU unit.
Does the demo have a command option to select a GPU if there are more

Re: Insufficient memory to complete this operation

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2012 5:23 am
by john
There is an indirect method to accomplish that, but it shouldn't be necessary if you only have the one GPU.