CUDA error:

General CULA Dense (LAPACK & BLAS) support and troubleshooting. Use this forum if you are having a general problem or have encountered a bug.

CUDA error:

Postby crtransient » Tue Jun 21, 2011 12:18 pm

Hi, my CULA codes was working fine, but when after updating to R12 I received the following error when running the basicUsage example:

Allocating Matrices
Initializing CULA
CUDA Error: initialization error (see Programmer's Guide)

I have CUDA 4.0 and so I am not sure what is causing this problem.

Thanks!
crtransient
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:08 am

Re: CUDA error:

Postby kyle » Tue Jun 21, 2011 1:12 pm

Have you updated your drivers?
kyle
Administrator
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:47 pm

Re: CUDA error:

Postby crtransient » Tue Jun 21, 2011 1:16 pm

Yes it is 4.0, here is the output of CUDA's deviceQuery:

deviceQuery, CUDA Driver = CUDART, CUDA Driver Version = 4.0, CUDA Runtime Version = 3.20, NumDevs = 4, Device = Tesla C2050, Device = Tesla C2050
crtransient
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:08 am

Re: CUDA error:

Postby kyle » Tue Jun 21, 2011 1:29 pm

Are you linking in the CUDA Runtime in addition to CULA? If so, you need to update your CUDA Runtime tas well.
kyle
Administrator
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:47 pm

Re: CUDA error:

Postby crtransient » Sat Jun 25, 2011 2:43 pm

Thanks, this resolved the problem. Both the CUDA driver and runtime need to be updated.
crtransient
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jun 03, 2010 9:08 am

Re: CUDA error:

Postby kyle » Sat Jun 25, 2011 9:24 pm

Great! Just as a reminder, you don't need to link in the CUDA runtime unless you are using CUDA calls directly.
kyle
Administrator
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:47 pm


Return to CULA Dense Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron