Kepler & culaInitialize spins

General CULA Dense (LAPACK & BLAS) support and troubleshooting. Use this forum if you are having a general problem or have encountered a bug.

Kepler & culaInitialize spins

Postby bzell » Wed Aug 08, 2012 3:54 pm

stable program for 6+months.

upgraded from Fermi to Kepler board (640); CUDA 4.0; CULATOOLS R14. latest nvidia driver: 6.14.12.6658 (), R301.42 (branch: r301_07)

now culaInitialize wont. doesnt return, seems to spin. I have cpu busy 50% on otherwise idle system (only VS 2010 running).

??
[note: logged in as BZell but submitted by Jim Morgenstern -- jmorgenstern@vision4ce.com]
bzell
CULA Premium
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 7:36 pm

Re: Kepler & culaInitialize spins

Postby john » Thu Aug 09, 2012 5:47 am

This is because R14 is not designed for use with Kepler. It will eventually initialize (~90s or more), which is due to CUBLAS jitting the kernels for your Kepler card. They should be cached on your disk afterwards, so initialize will be shorter once it finally finishes that. R15 will be Kepler-ready.
john
Administrator
 
Posts: 587
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 2:31 pm

Re: Kepler & culaInitialize spins

Postby jmorgie » Sun Aug 12, 2012 10:04 pm

Is there an ETA for R15 ?? We have decisions to make re configuration for our next gen systems.
[ps --gave it 3 minutes to spin and no response.]

thanks
jmorgie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 8:48 am


Return to CULA Dense Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron