Runtime error when running examples

Support for issues specific to the Linux operating systems.

Runtime error when running examples

Postby univmercury » Wed Aug 19, 2009 6:33 pm

Hi,

I just installed the CULA Release 1.0 Beta 1 Linux 64 version, and set the environment
export CULA_ROOT="$HOME/cula"
export CULA_INC_PATH="$CULA_ROOT/include"
export CULA_BIN_PATH_32="$CULA_ROOT/bin"
export CULA_BIN_PATH_64="$CULA_ROOT/bin64"
export CULA_LIB_PATH_32="$CULA_ROOT/lib"
export CULA_LIB_PATH_64="$CULA_ROOT/lib64"

And because the CUDA driver we installed is v2.2, I set the LD_LIBRARY_PATH as follows:
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$CULA_LIB_PATH_64:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH

The original LD_LIBRARY_PATH is :/usr/local/cuda/lib. I put the $CULA_LIB_PATH_64 in front of the /usr/cuda/lib to prevent linking to the cudart v2.2

I tried the example geqrf. It can compile, but when running, I get the error:
Initializing CULA
Runtime error, see culaGetErrorInfo for error code

I think it may be the linking to the CUDA runtime, but I have set to use the shipped one. Can anyone give me some light?

Thanks in advance.
univmercury
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 3:42 am

Re:Runtime error when running examples

Postby kyle » Wed Aug 19, 2009 9:02 pm

Which 64-bit Linux distribution are you using?
kyle
Administrator
 
Posts: 301
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 7:47 pm

Re:Runtime error when running examples

Postby john » Thu Aug 20, 2009 6:52 am

More importantly, what is your Nvidia driver version? CUDA drivers are backwards compatible but not forwards compatible. CULA is built against the 2.3 runtime and as such you need a 2.3-compatible driver. For a Linux system, this requires driver version 190.18 or newer.
john
Administrator
 
Posts: 587
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 2:31 pm

Re:Runtime error when running examples

Postby univmercury » Sun Aug 23, 2009 9:19 pm

I use the Ubuntu 8.04, with kernel 2.6.30, x86_64, and the CUDA version is 2.2. The GPU is Tesla S1070.

Thank you.
univmercury
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2009 3:42 am

Re:Runtime error when running examples

Postby john » Mon Aug 24, 2009 8:31 am

We have enhanced the error outputs from our examples to help diagnose this a little easier in the future. That should make its way into an upcoming Beta refresh - it won't be long until that happens.

In the meantime, have you checked your Nvidia driver version? We do require version 190.18 of the driver on Linuv, which was released with CUDA 2.3. (Note: you can still develop on toolkit version 2.2 even with the 2.3 driver as the drivers are backwards compatible.)
john
Administrator
 
Posts: 587
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 2:31 pm

Re:Runtime error when running examples

Postby abhishek.s.dey » Tue Sep 01, 2009 9:11 am

Hi,

I am using CULA tools on Ubuntu 8.10 "intrepid ibex" (32-bit). I have followed the installation procedure as mentioned in the supporting document.

However, my programs have failed to compile by saying "cula.h not found".

I realize that the error is due to the environment misconfiguration. The following line was included to .bashrc file, native to Ubuntu, as

export CULA_ROOT=/usr/local/cula
export CULA_INC_PATH=$CULA_ROOT/include
export CULA_BIN_PATH_32=$CULA_ROOT/bin
export CULA_LIB_PATH_32=$CULA_ROOT/lib

The original .bashrc content are as follows:
/----------------------------------------------------------------------------------/
# ~/.bashrc: executed by bash(1) for non-login shells.
# see /usr/share/doc/bash/examples/startup-files (in the package bash-doc)
# for examples

# If not running interactively, don't do anything
[ -z "$PS1" ] && return

# don't put duplicate lines in the history. See bash(1) for more options
# don't overwrite GNU Midnight Commander's setting of `ignorespace'.
export HISTCONTROL=$HISTCONTROL${HISTCONTROL+,}ignoredups
# ... or force ignoredups and ignorespace
export HISTCONTROL=ignoreboth

# append to the history file, don't overwrite it
shopt -s histappend

# for setting history length see HISTSIZE and HISTFILESIZE in bash(1)

# check the window size after each command and, if necessary,
# update the values of LINES and COLUMNS.
shopt -s checkwinsize

# make less more friendly for non-text input files, see lesspipe(1)
[ -x /usr/bin/lesspipe ] && eval "$(SHELL=/bin/sh lesspipe)"

# set variable identifying the chroot you work in (used in the prompt below)
if [ -z "$debian_chroot" ] && [ -r /etc/debian_chroot ]; then
debian_chroot=$(cat /etc/debian_chroot)
fi

# set a fancy prompt (non-color, unless we know we "want" color)
case "$TERM" in
xterm-color) color_prompt=yes;;
esac

# uncomment for a colored prompt, if the terminal has the capability; turned
# off by default to not distract the user: the focus in a terminal window
# should be on the output of commands, not on the prompt
#force_color_prompt=yes

if [ -n "$force_color_prompt" ]; then
if [ -x /usr/bin/tput ] && tput setaf 1 >&/dev/null; then
# We have color support; assume it's compliant with Ecma-48
# (ISO/IEC-6429). (Lack of such support is extremely rare, and such
# a case would tend to support setf rather than setaf.)
color_prompt=yes
else
color_prompt=
fi
fi

if [ "$color_prompt" = yes ]; then
PS1='${debian_chroot:+($debian_chroot)}\[\033[01;32m\]\u@\h\[\033[00m\]:\[\033[01;34m\]\w\[\033[00m\]\$ '
else
PS1='${debian_chroot:+($debian_chroot)}\u@\h:\w\$ '
fi
unset color_prompt force_color_prompt

# If this is an xterm set the title to user@host:dir
case "$TERM" in
xterm*|rxvt*)
PS1="\[\e]0;${debian_chroot:+($debian_chroot)}\u@\h: \w\a\]$PS1"
;;
*)
;;
esac

# Alias definitions.
# You may want to put all your additions into a separate file like
# ~/.bash_aliases, instead of adding them here directly.
# See /usr/share/doc/bash-doc/examples in the bash-doc package.

#if [ -f ~/.bash_aliases ]; then
# . ~/.bash_aliases
#fi

# enable color support of ls and also add handy aliases
if [ -x /usr/bin/dircolors ]; then
eval "`dircolors -b`"
alias ls='ls --color=auto'
#alias dir='dir --color=auto'
#alias vdir='vdir --color=auto'

#alias grep='grep --color=auto'
#alias fgrep='fgrep --color=auto'
#alias egrep='egrep --color=auto'
fi

# some more ls aliases
#alias ll='ls -l'
#alias la='ls -A'
#alias l='ls -CF'

# enable programmable completion features (you don't need to enable
# this, if it's already enabled in /etc/bash.bashrc and /etc/profile
# sources /etc/bash.bashrc).
if [ -f /etc/bash_completion ]; then
. /etc/bash_completion
fi
#CUDA Stuff
PATH=$PATH:/usr/local/cuda/bin
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:/usr/local/cuda/lib
export PATH
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH

/------------------------------------------------------------------------------------/

Any suggestions?
abhishek.s.dey
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2009 4:52 pm
Location: Pune, India

Re:Runtime error when running examples

Postby dan » Tue Sep 01, 2009 9:23 am

When you mention that your programs aren't compiling correctly, are you referring to the CULA examples or programs you've created yourself? If the latter, make sure to include -I$CULA_INC_PATH on your link line, see http://www.culatools.com/html_guide/#co ... ject-paths

If your compile line is correct or you are using one of the CULA examples, it's possible that your .bashrc hasn't been or isn't being sourced correctly.

Did you reload your shell after adding those entries to your .bashrc?

A quick way to test if your environment has been sourced is to do type 'env' on a command line and search for the CULA environment variables (or env | grep -i "cula").
dan
Administrator
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 2:29 pm


Return to Linux Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron